lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/objtool] objtool: Don't report end of section error after an empty unwind hint
Commit-ID:  00d96180dc38ef872ac471c2d3e14b067cbd895d
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/00d96180dc38ef872ac471c2d3e14b067cbd895d
Author: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 18 Sep 2017 21:43:30 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Thu, 28 Sep 2017 09:39:02 +0200

objtool: Don't report end of section error after an empty unwind hint

If asm code specifies an UNWIND_HINT_EMPTY hint, don't warn if the
section ends unexpectedly. This can happen with the xen-head.S code
because the hypercall_page is "text" but it's all zeros.

Signed-off-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/ddafe199dd8797e40e3c2777373347eba1d65572.1505764066.git.jpoimboe@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
tools/objtool/check.c | 7 +++++--
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/objtool/check.c b/tools/objtool/check.c
index a0c518e..83f370f 100644
--- a/tools/objtool/check.c
+++ b/tools/objtool/check.c
@@ -1752,11 +1752,14 @@ static int validate_branch(struct objtool_file *file, struct instruction *first,
if (insn->dead_end)
return 0;

- insn = next_insn;
- if (!insn) {
+ if (!next_insn) {
+ if (state.cfa.base == CFI_UNDEFINED)
+ return 0;
WARN("%s: unexpected end of section", sec->name);
return 1;
}
+
+ insn = next_insn;
}

return 0;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-28 12:59    [W:0.150 / U:1.568 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site