lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [tip:x86/urgent] x86/mm/32: Load a sane CR3 before cpu_init() on secondary CPUs
From
Date
Dear Andy,


On 09/17/17 20:19, tip-bot for Andy Lutomirski wrote:
> Commit-ID: 4ba55e65f471d011d3ba2ac2022180ea0877d68e
> Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/4ba55e65f471d011d3ba2ac2022180ea0877d68e
> Author: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> AuthorDate: Sun, 17 Sep 2017 09:03:51 -0700
> Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> CommitDate: Sun, 17 Sep 2017 18:59:09 +0200
>
> x86/mm/32: Load a sane CR3 before cpu_init() on secondary CPUs
>
> For unknown historical reasons (i.e. Borislav doesn't recall),
> 32-bit kernels invoke cpu_init() on secondary CPUs with
> initial_page_table loaded into CR3. Then they set
> current->active_mm to &init_mm and call enter_lazy_tlb() before
> fixing CR3.

If this should be changed, I’d be happy to help.

> This means that the x86 TLB code gets invoked while CR3
> is inconsistent, and, with the improved PCID sanity checks I added,
> we warn.
>
> Fix it by loading swapper_pg_dir (i.e. init_mm.pgd) earlier.
>
> Reported-by: Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de>
> Reported-by: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Fixes: 72c0098d92ce ("x86/mm: Reinitialize TLB state on hotplug and resume")
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/30cdfea504682ba3b9012e77717800a91c22097f.1505663533.git.luto@kernel.org

This should use the HTTPS protocol.

> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> arch/x86/kernel/smpboot.c | 13 +++++++------
> 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

[…]

Thank you for the fix.

Tested-by: Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de> (Lenovo X60t)


Kind regards,

Paul

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-18 10:18    [W:0.050 / U:2.212 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site