lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/urgent] arm64/syscalls: Move address limit check in loop
Commit-ID:  a2048e34d4655c06d31400646ae495bbfeb16b27
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/a2048e34d4655c06d31400646ae495bbfeb16b27
Author: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 7 Sep 2017 08:30:47 -0700
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Sun, 17 Sep 2017 19:45:33 +0200

arm64/syscalls: Move address limit check in loop

A bug was reported on ARM where set_fs might be called after it was
checked on the work pending function. ARM64 is not affected by this bug
but has a similar construct. In order to avoid any similar problems in
the future, the addr_limit_user_check function is moved at the beginning
of the loop.

Fixes: cf7de27ab351 ("arm64/syscalls: Check address limit on user-mode return")
Reported-by: Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@nxp.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Pratyush Anand <panand@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>
Cc: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1504798247-48833-5-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org

---
arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c | 6 +++---
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c
index c45214f..0bdc96c 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c
@@ -751,10 +751,10 @@ asmlinkage void do_notify_resume(struct pt_regs *regs,
*/
trace_hardirqs_off();

- /* Check valid user FS if needed */
- addr_limit_user_check();
-
do {
+ /* Check valid user FS if needed */
+ addr_limit_user_check();
+
if (thread_flags & _TIF_NEED_RESCHED) {
schedule();
} else {
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-17 20:01    [W:0.065 / U:2.532 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site