lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH for 4.9 35/59] serial: 8250_port: Remove dangerous pr_debug()
Date
From: Alexey Brodkin <Alexey.Brodkin@synopsys.com>

[ Upstream commit 699a11ba7ec869b006623182881f2f1f5b4aea53 ]

With CONFIG_DYNAMIC_DEBUG if dyndbg enables debug output in
8250_port.c deadlock happens inevitably on UART IRQ handling.

That's the problematic execution path:
---------------------------->8------------------------
UART IRQ:
serial8250_interrupt() ->
serial8250_handle_irq(): lock "port->lock" ->
pr_debug() ->
serial8250_console_write(): bump in locked "port->lock".

OR (if above pr_debug() gets removed):
serial8250_tx_chars() ->
pr_debug() ->
serial8250_console_write(): bump in locked "port->lock".
---------------------------->8------------------------

So let's get rid of those not that much useful debug entries.

Discussed problem could be easily reproduced with QEMU for x86_64.
As well as this fix could be mimicked with muting of dynamic debug for
the problematic lines as simple as:
---------------------------->8------------------------
dyndbg="+p; file 8250_port.c line 1756 -p; file 8250_port.c line 1822 -p"
---------------------------->8------------------------

Signed-off-by: Alexey Brodkin <abrodkin@synopsys.com>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Hurley <peter@hurleysoftware.com>
Cc: Phillip Raffeck <phillip.raffeck@fau.de>
Cc: Anton Wuerfel <anton.wuerfel@fau.de>
Cc: "Matwey V. Kornilov" <matwey@sai.msu.ru>
Cc: Yegor Yefremov <yegorslists@googlemail.com>
Cc: Thor Thayer <tthayer@opensource.altera.com>
Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@verizon.com>
---
drivers/tty/serial/8250/8250_port.c | 4 ----
1 file changed, 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/tty/serial/8250/8250_port.c b/drivers/tty/serial/8250/8250_port.c
index f24d3030b98c..1ef31e3ee4a1 100644
--- a/drivers/tty/serial/8250/8250_port.c
+++ b/drivers/tty/serial/8250/8250_port.c
@@ -1751,8 +1751,6 @@ void serial8250_tx_chars(struct uart_8250_port *up)
if (uart_circ_chars_pending(xmit) < WAKEUP_CHARS)
uart_write_wakeup(port);

- pr_debug("%s: THRE\n", __func__);
-
/*
* With RPM enabled, we have to wait until the FIFO is empty before the
* HW can go idle. So we get here once again with empty FIFO and disable
@@ -1817,8 +1815,6 @@ int serial8250_handle_irq(struct uart_port *port, unsigned int iir)

status = serial_port_in(port, UART_LSR);

- pr_debug("%s: status = %x\n", __func__, status);
-
if (status & (UART_LSR_DR | UART_LSR_BI)) {
if (!up->dma || handle_rx_dma(up, iir))
status = serial8250_rx_chars(up, status);
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-14 19:29    [W:0.380 / U:3.944 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site