lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/3] kcov: support comparison operands collection
On Wed, Aug 30, 2017 at 9:08 PM, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> wrote:
> On Wed, Aug 30, 2017 at 8:23 PM, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> wrote:
>> Hi,
>>
>> On Wed, Aug 30, 2017 at 06:23:29PM +0200, Dmitry Vyukov wrote:
>>> From: Victor Chibotaru <tchibo@google.com>
>>>
>>> Enables kcov to collect comparison operands from instrumented code.
>>> This is done by using Clang's -fsanitize=trace-cmp instrumentation
>>> (currently not available for GCC).
>>
>> What's needed to build the kernel with Clang these days?
>>
>> I was under the impression that it still wasn't possible to build arm64
>> with clang due to a number of missing features (e.g. the %a assembler
>> output template).
>>
>>> The comparison operands help a lot in fuzz testing. E.g. they are
>>> used in Syzkaller to cover the interiors of conditional statements
>>> with way less attempts and thus make previously unreachable code
>>> reachable.
>>>
>>> To allow separate collection of coverage and comparison operands two
>>> different work modes are implemented. Mode selection is now done via
>>> a KCOV_ENABLE ioctl call with corresponding argument value.
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Victor Chibotaru <tchibo@google.com>
>>> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>>> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
>>> Cc: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@linux.com>
>>> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
>>> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
>>> Cc: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@oracle.com>
>>> Cc: Quentin Casasnovas <quentin.casasnovas@oracle.com>
>>> Cc: syzkaller@googlegroups.com
>>> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
>>> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>>> ---
>>> Clang instrumentation:
>>> https://clang.llvm.org/docs/SanitizerCoverage.html#tracing-data-flow
>>
>> How stable is this?
>>
>> The comment at the end says "This interface is a subject to change."
>
>
> The intention is that this is not subject to change anymore (since we
> are using it in kernel).
> I've mailed change to docs: https://reviews.llvm.org/D37303
>
> FWIW, there is patch in flight that adds this instrumentation to gcc:
> https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/syzkaller/CSLynn6nI-A
> It seems to be stalled on review phase, though.


Good news is that this is submitted to gcc in 251801.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-12 19:43    [W:0.057 / U:4.508 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site