lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 5/5] sched/fair: Fix use of find_idlest_group when local group is idlest
On 31 August 2017 at 13:58, Brendan Jackman <brendan.jackman@arm.com> wrote:
> find_idlest_group returns NULL when the local group is idlest. The
> caller then continues the find_idlest_group search at a lower level
> of the current CPU's sched_domain hierarchy. find_idlest_group_cpu is
> not consulted and, crucially, @new_cpu is not updated. This means the
> search is pointless and we return @prev_cpu from select_task_rq_fair.
>
> This is fixed by initialising @new_cpu to @cpu instead of
> @prev_cpu.
>
> Signed-off-by: Brendan Jackman <brendan.jackman@arm.com>
> Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
> Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

Reviewed-by: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>

> ---
> kernel/sched/fair.c | 2 +-
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
> index 2608091..f93cb97 100644
> --- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
> +++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
> @@ -5567,7 +5567,7 @@ find_idlest_group_cpu(struct sched_group *group, struct task_struct *p, int this
> static inline int find_idlest_cpu(struct sched_domain *sd, struct task_struct *p,
> int cpu, int prev_cpu, int sd_flag)
> {
> - int new_cpu = prev_cpu;
> + int new_cpu = cpu;
>
> if (!cpumask_intersects(sched_domain_span(sd), &p->cpus_allowed))
> return prev_cpu;
> --
> 2.7.4
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-31 18:10    [W:0.064 / U:10.108 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site