lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 10/14] arm64: assembler: allow adr_this_cpu to use the stack pointer
On Mon, Aug 07, 2017 at 07:36:01PM +0100, Mark Rutland wrote:
> From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
>
> Given that adr_this_cpu already requires a temp register in addition
> to the destination register, tweak the instruction sequence so that sp
> may be used as well.
>
> This will simplify switching to per-cpu stacks in subsequent patches. While
> this limits the range of adr_this_cpu, to +/-4GiB, we don't currently use
> adr_this_cpu in modules, and this is not problematic for the main kernel image.
>
> Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
> [Mark: add more commit text]
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
> Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> ---
> arch/arm64/include/asm/assembler.h | 3 ++-
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/assembler.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/assembler.h
> index 610a420..4775af5 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/assembler.h
> +++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/assembler.h
> @@ -235,7 +235,8 @@
> * @tmp: scratch register
> */
> .macro adr_this_cpu, dst, sym, tmp
> - adr_l \dst, \sym
> + adrp \tmp, \sym
> + add \dst, \tmp, #:lo12:\sym
> mrs \tmp, tpidr_el1
> add \dst, \dst, \tmp
> .endm

Nitpick: it may be worth adding an #ifndef MODULE around these macros,
together with a comment, just in case. There are other macros in this
file like adr_l which are used in modules (crypto).

--
Catalin

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-14 19:14    [W:0.122 / U:34.900 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site