lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 05/14] arm64: clean up THREAD_* definitions
On Mon, Aug 07, 2017 at 07:35:56PM +0100, Mark Rutland wrote:
> Currently we define THREAD_SIZE and THREAD_SIZE order separately, with

s/THREAD_SIZE order/THREAD_SIZE_ORDER/

> the latter dependent on particular CONFIG_ARM64_*K_PAGES definitions.
> This is somewhat opaque, and will get in the way of future modifications
> to THREAD_SIZE.
>
> This patch cleans this up, defining both in terms of a common
> THREAD_SHIFT, and using PAGE_SHIFT to calculate THREAD_SIZE_ORDER,
> rather than using a number of definitions dependent on config symbols.
> Subsequent patches will make use of this to alter the stack size used in
> some configurations.
>
> At the same time, these are moved into <asm/memory.h>, which will avoid
> circular include issues in subsequent patches. To ensure that existing
> code isn't adversely affected, <asm/thread_info.h> is updated to
> transitively include these definitions.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
> Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> ---
> arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h | 8 ++++++++
> arch/arm64/include/asm/thread_info.h | 9 +--------
> 2 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h
> index 77d55dc..8ab4774 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h
> +++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h
> @@ -102,6 +102,14 @@
> #define KASAN_SHADOW_SIZE (0)
> #endif
>
> +#define THREAD_SHIFT 14
> +
> +#if THREAD_SHIFT >= PAGE_SHIFT
> +#define THREAD_SIZE_ORDER (THREAD_SHIFT - PAGE_SHIFT)
> +#endif
> +
> +#define THREAD_SIZE (UL(1) << THREAD_SHIFT)

I haven't tried the series to this patch but it seems to me that
THREAD_SIZE_ORDER is undefined for a PAGE_SHIFT of 16. Without
VMAP_STACKS, it may fail to build.

--
Catalin

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-14 14:00    [W:0.105 / U:6.156 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site