lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Apr]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.18 071/124] perf/core: Fix event inheritance on fork()
Date
3.18-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>

commit e7cc4865f0f31698ef2f7aac01a50e78968985b7 upstream.

While hunting for clues to a use-after-free, Oleg spotted that
perf_event_init_context() can loose an error value with the result
that fork() can succeed even though we did not fully inherit the perf
event context.

Spotted-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: oleg@redhat.com
Fixes: 889ff0150661 ("perf/core: Split context's event group list into pinned and non-pinned lists")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170316125823.190342547@infradead.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
kernel/events/core.c | 5 +++--
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -8058,7 +8058,7 @@ static int perf_event_init_context(struc
ret = inherit_task_group(event, parent, parent_ctx,
child, ctxn, &inherited_all);
if (ret)
- break;
+ goto out_unlock;
}

/*
@@ -8074,7 +8074,7 @@ static int perf_event_init_context(struc
ret = inherit_task_group(event, parent, parent_ctx,
child, ctxn, &inherited_all);
if (ret)
- break;
+ goto out_unlock;
}

raw_spin_lock_irqsave(&parent_ctx->lock, flags);
@@ -8102,6 +8102,7 @@ static int perf_event_init_context(struc
}

raw_spin_unlock_irqrestore(&parent_ctx->lock, flags);
+out_unlock:
mutex_unlock(&parent_ctx->mutex);

perf_unpin_context(parent_ctx);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-04-20 08:57    [W:0.544 / U:38.348 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site