lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Mar]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.4 26/28] x86/perf: Fix CR4.PCE propagation to use active_mm instead of mm
Date
4.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>

commit 5dc855d44c2ad960a86f593c60461f1ae1566b6d upstream.

If one thread mmaps a perf event while another thread in the same mm
is in some context where active_mm != mm (which can happen in the
scheduler, for example), refresh_pce() would write the wrong value
to CR4.PCE. This broke some PAPI tests.

Reported-and-tested-by: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: 7911d3f7af14 ("perf/x86: Only allow rdpmc if a perf_event is mapped")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/0c5b38a76ea50e405f9abe07a13dfaef87c173a1.1489694270.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event.c
@@ -1996,8 +1996,8 @@ static int x86_pmu_event_init(struct per

static void refresh_pce(void *ignored)
{
- if (current->mm)
- load_mm_cr4(current->mm);
+ if (current->active_mm)
+ load_mm_cr4(current->active_mm);
}

static void x86_pmu_event_mapped(struct perf_event *event)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-03-20 18:57    [W:0.129 / U:0.060 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site