lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Mar]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/process] x86/syscalls/32: Wire up arch_prctl on x86-32
Commit-ID:  79170fda313ed5be2394f87aa2a00d597f8ed4a1
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/79170fda313ed5be2394f87aa2a00d597f8ed4a1
Author: Kyle Huey <me@kylehuey.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 20 Mar 2017 01:16:24 -0700
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Mon, 20 Mar 2017 16:10:33 +0100

x86/syscalls/32: Wire up arch_prctl on x86-32

Hook up arch_prctl to call do_arch_prctl() on x86-32, and in 32 bit compat
mode on x86-64. This allows to have arch_prctls that are not specific to 64
bits.

On UML, simply stub out this syscall.

Signed-off-by: Kyle Huey <khuey@kylehuey.com>
Cc: Grzegorz Andrejczuk <grzegorz.andrejczuk@intel.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>
Cc: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: user-mode-linux-user@lists.sourceforge.net
Cc: David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <dsafonov@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170320081628.18952-7-khuey@kylehuey.com
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

---
arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl | 1 +
arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c | 7 +++++++
arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c | 7 +++++++
arch/x86/um/Makefile | 2 +-
arch/x86/um/syscalls_32.c | 7 +++++++
include/linux/compat.h | 2 ++
6 files changed, 25 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl b/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl
index 9ba050f..0af59fa 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl
@@ -390,3 +390,4 @@
381 i386 pkey_alloc sys_pkey_alloc
382 i386 pkey_free sys_pkey_free
383 i386 statx sys_statx
+384 i386 arch_prctl sys_arch_prctl compat_sys_arch_prctl
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c b/arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c
index 4c818f8..ff40e74 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c
@@ -37,6 +37,7 @@
#include <linux/uaccess.h>
#include <linux/io.h>
#include <linux/kdebug.h>
+#include <linux/syscalls.h>

#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/ldt.h>
@@ -56,6 +57,7 @@
#include <asm/switch_to.h>
#include <asm/vm86.h>
#include <asm/intel_rdt.h>
+#include <asm/proto.h>

void __show_regs(struct pt_regs *regs, int all)
{
@@ -304,3 +306,8 @@ __switch_to(struct task_struct *prev_p, struct task_struct *next_p)

return prev_p;
}
+
+SYSCALL_DEFINE2(arch_prctl, int, option, unsigned long, arg2)
+{
+ return do_arch_prctl_common(current, option, arg2);
+}
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
index d81b0a6..ea1a618 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
@@ -635,6 +635,13 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE2(arch_prctl, int, option, unsigned long, arg2)
return ret;
}

+#ifdef CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION
+COMPAT_SYSCALL_DEFINE2(arch_prctl, int, option, unsigned long, arg2)
+{
+ return do_arch_prctl_common(current, option, arg2);
+}
+#endif
+
unsigned long KSTK_ESP(struct task_struct *task)
{
return task_pt_regs(task)->sp;
diff --git a/arch/x86/um/Makefile b/arch/x86/um/Makefile
index e7e7055..69f0827 100644
--- a/arch/x86/um/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/um/Makefile
@@ -16,7 +16,7 @@ obj-y = bug.o bugs_$(BITS).o delay.o fault.o ldt.o \

ifeq ($(CONFIG_X86_32),y)

-obj-y += checksum_32.o
+obj-y += checksum_32.o syscalls_32.o
obj-$(CONFIG_ELF_CORE) += elfcore.o

subarch-y = ../lib/string_32.o ../lib/atomic64_32.o ../lib/atomic64_cx8_32.o
diff --git a/arch/x86/um/syscalls_32.c b/arch/x86/um/syscalls_32.c
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..627d688
--- /dev/null
+++ b/arch/x86/um/syscalls_32.c
@@ -0,0 +1,7 @@
+#include <linux/syscalls.h>
+#include <os.h>
+
+SYSCALL_DEFINE2(arch_prctl, int, option, unsigned long, arg2)
+{
+ return -EINVAL;
+}
diff --git a/include/linux/compat.h b/include/linux/compat.h
index aef47be..af9dbc4 100644
--- a/include/linux/compat.h
+++ b/include/linux/compat.h
@@ -723,6 +723,8 @@ asmlinkage long compat_sys_sched_rr_get_interval(compat_pid_t pid,
asmlinkage long compat_sys_fanotify_mark(int, unsigned int, __u32, __u32,
int, const char __user *);

+asmlinkage long compat_sys_arch_prctl(int option, unsigned long arg2);
+
/*
* For most but not all architectures, "am I in a compat syscall?" and
* "am I a compat task?" are the same question. For architectures on which
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-03-20 17:36    [W:0.118 / U:1.544 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site