lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[patch 08/60] x86/entry/gdt: Put per-CPU GDT remaps in ascending order
From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>

We currently have CPU 0's GDT at the top of the GDT range and
higher-numbered CPUs at lower addresses. This happens because the
fixmap is upside down (index 0 is the top of the fixmap).

Flip it so that GDTs are in ascending order by virtual address.
This will simplify a future patch that will generalize the GDT
remap to contain multiple pages.

Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/3966a6edf6fd45deca4cf52a9b9276402499dda9.1511497875.git.luto@kernel.org

---
arch/x86/include/asm/desc.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/desc.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/desc.h
@@ -63,7 +63,7 @@ static inline struct desc_struct *get_cu
/* Get the fixmap index for a specific processor */
static inline unsigned int get_cpu_gdt_ro_index(int cpu)
{
- return FIX_GDT_REMAP_BEGIN + cpu;
+ return FIX_GDT_REMAP_END - cpu;
}

/* Provide the fixmap address of the remapped GDT */

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-04 18:07    [W:0.014 / U:0.404 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site