lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Subject[PATCH 02/30] x86, tlb: make CR4-based TLB flushes more robust
From
Date

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

Our CR4-based TLB flush currently requries global pages to be
supported *and* enabled. But, the hardware only needs for them to
be supported.

Make the code more robust by alllowing the initial state of
X86_CR4_PGE to be on *or* off. In addition, if we get called in
an unepected state (X86_CR4_PGE=0), issue a warning. Having
X86_CR4_PGE=0 is certainly unexpected and we should not ignore
it if encountered.

This essentially gives us the best of both worlds: we get a TLB
flush no matter what, and we get a warning if we got called in
an unexpected way (X86_CR4_PGE=0).

The XOR change was suggested by Kirill Shutemov.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Moritz Lipp <moritz.lipp@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Michael Schwarz <michael.schwarz@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Richard Fellner <richard.fellner@student.tugraz.at>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
---

b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h | 17 ++++++++++++++---
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff -puN arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h~kaiser-prep-make-cr4-writes-tolerate-clear-pge arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h~kaiser-prep-make-cr4-writes-tolerate-clear-pge 2017-11-08 10:45:26.461681402 -0800
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h 2017-11-08 10:45:26.464681402 -0800
@@ -250,9 +250,20 @@ static inline void __native_flush_tlb_gl
unsigned long cr4;

cr4 = this_cpu_read(cpu_tlbstate.cr4);
- /* clear PGE */
- native_write_cr4(cr4 & ~X86_CR4_PGE);
- /* write old PGE again and flush TLBs */
+ /*
+ * This function is only called on systems that support X86_CR4_PGE
+ * and where always set X86_CR4_PGE. Warn if we are called without
+ * PGE set.
+ */
+ WARN_ON_ONCE(!(cr4 & X86_CR4_PGE));
+ /*
+ * Architecturally, any _change_ to X86_CR4_PGE will fully flush the
+ * TLB of all entries including all entries in all PCIDs and all
+ * global pages. Make sure that we _change_ the bit, regardless of
+ * whether we had X86_CR4_PGE set in the first place.
+ */
+ native_write_cr4(cr4 ^ X86_CR4_PGE);
+ /* Put original CR4 value back: */
native_write_cr4(cr4);
}

_
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-08 21:15    [W:0.242 / U:7.908 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site