lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Subject[PATCH 20/30] x86, mm: remove hard-coded ASID limit checks
From
Date

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

First, it's nice to remove the magic numbers.

Second, KAISER is going to eat up half of the available ASID
space. We do not use it today, but we need to at least spell
out this new restriction.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Moritz Lipp <moritz.lipp@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Michael Schwarz <michael.schwarz@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Richard Fellner <richard.fellner@student.tugraz.at>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
---

b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h | 16 ++++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff -puN arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h~kaiser-pcid-pre-build-asids-macros arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h~kaiser-pcid-pre-build-asids-macros 2017-11-08 10:45:36.780681376 -0800
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/tlbflush.h 2017-11-08 10:45:36.784681376 -0800
@@ -74,6 +74,18 @@ static inline u64 inc_mm_tlb_gen(struct
return new_tlb_gen;
}

+/* There are 12 bits of space for ASIDS in CR3 */
+#define CR3_HW_ASID_BITS 12
+/* When enabled, KAISER consumes a single bit for user/kernel switches */
+#define KAISER_CONSUMED_ASID_BITS 0
+
+#define CR3_AVAIL_ASID_BITS (CR3_HW_ASID_BITS-KAISER_CONSUMED_ASID_BITS)
+/*
+ * We lose a single extra ASID because 0 is reserved for use
+ * by non-PCID-aware users.
+ */
+#define NR_AVAIL_ASIDS ((1<<CR3_AVAIL_ASID_BITS) - 1)
+
/*
* If PCID is on, ASID-aware code paths put the ASID+1 into the PCID
* bits. This serves two purposes. It prevents a nasty situation in
@@ -87,7 +99,7 @@ struct pgd_t;
static inline unsigned long build_cr3(pgd_t *pgd, u16 asid)
{
if (static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PCID)) {
- VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > 4094);
+ VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > NR_AVAIL_ASIDS);
return __sme_pa(pgd) | (asid + 1);
} else {
VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid != 0);
@@ -97,7 +109,7 @@ static inline unsigned long build_cr3(pg

static inline unsigned long build_cr3_noflush(pgd_t *pgd, u16 asid)
{
- VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > 4094);
+ VM_WARN_ON_ONCE(asid > NR_AVAIL_ASIDS);
return __sme_pa(pgd) | (asid + 1) | CR3_NOFLUSH;
}

_
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-08 21:15    [W:0.262 / U:118.904 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site