lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Subject[PATCH 14/30] x86, kaiser: map espfix structures
From
Date

From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

We have some rather arcane code to help when we IRET to 16-bit
segments: the "espfix" code. This consists of a few per-cpu
variables:

espfix_stack: tells us where we allocated the stack
(the bottom)
espfix_waddr: tells us where we can actually point %rsp

and the stack itself. We need all three things mapped for this
to work.

Note: the espfix code runs with a kernel GSBASE, but user
(shadow) page tables. We could switch to the kernel page tables
here and then not have to map any of this, but just
user-pagetable-mapping is simpler. To switch over to the kernel
copy, we would need some temporary storage which is in short
supply at this point.

The original KAISER patch missed this case.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Moritz Lipp <moritz.lipp@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Michael Schwarz <michael.schwarz@iaik.tugraz.at>
Cc: Richard Fellner <richard.fellner@student.tugraz.at>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
---

b/arch/x86/kernel/espfix_64.c | 12 +++++++++---
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff -puN arch/x86/kernel/espfix_64.c~kaiser-user-map-espfix arch/x86/kernel/espfix_64.c
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/espfix_64.c~kaiser-user-map-espfix 2017-11-08 10:45:33.465681385 -0800
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/espfix_64.c 2017-11-08 10:45:33.469681385 -0800
@@ -33,6 +33,7 @@

#include <linux/init.h>
#include <linux/init_task.h>
+#include <linux/kaiser.h>
#include <linux/kernel.h>
#include <linux/percpu.h>
#include <linux/gfp.h>
@@ -41,7 +42,6 @@
#include <asm/pgalloc.h>
#include <asm/setup.h>
#include <asm/espfix.h>
-#include <asm/kaiser.h>

/*
* Note: we only need 6*8 = 48 bytes for the espfix stack, but round
@@ -61,8 +61,8 @@
#define PGALLOC_GFP (GFP_KERNEL | __GFP_NOTRACK | __GFP_ZERO)

/* This contains the *bottom* address of the espfix stack */
-DEFINE_PER_CPU_READ_MOSTLY(unsigned long, espfix_stack);
-DEFINE_PER_CPU_READ_MOSTLY(unsigned long, espfix_waddr);
+DEFINE_PER_CPU_USER_MAPPED(unsigned long, espfix_stack);
+DEFINE_PER_CPU_USER_MAPPED(unsigned long, espfix_waddr);

/* Initialization mutex - should this be a spinlock? */
static DEFINE_MUTEX(espfix_init_mutex);
@@ -225,4 +225,10 @@ done:
per_cpu(espfix_stack, cpu) = addr;
per_cpu(espfix_waddr, cpu) = (unsigned long)stack_page
+ (addr & ~PAGE_MASK);
+ /*
+ * _PAGE_GLOBAL is not really required. This is not a hot
+ * path, but we do it here for consistency.
+ */
+ kaiser_add_mapping((unsigned long)stack_page, PAGE_SIZE,
+ __PAGE_KERNEL | _PAGE_GLOBAL);
}
_
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-08 21:15    [W:0.254 / U:1.004 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site