lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH for 4.15 05/24] Restartable sequences: wire up x86 32/64 system call
Date
Wire up the rseq system call on x86 32/64.

This provides an ABI improving the speed of a user-space getcpu
operation on x86 by removing the need to perform a function call, "lsl"
instruction, or system call on the fast path, as well as improving the
speed of user-space operations on per-cpu data.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
CC: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
CC: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
CC: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
CC: Chris Lameter <cl@linux.com>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
CC: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
CC: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
CC: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
CC: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
---
arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl | 1 +
arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl | 1 +
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl b/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl
index 448ac2161112..ba43ee75e425 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_32.tbl
@@ -391,3 +391,4 @@
382 i386 pkey_free sys_pkey_free
383 i386 statx sys_statx
384 i386 arch_prctl sys_arch_prctl compat_sys_arch_prctl
+385 i386 rseq sys_rseq
diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl b/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl
index 5aef183e2f85..3ad03495bbb9 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl
@@ -339,6 +339,7 @@
330 common pkey_alloc sys_pkey_alloc
331 common pkey_free sys_pkey_free
332 common statx sys_statx
+333 common rseq sys_rseq

#
# x32-specific system call numbers start at 512 to avoid cache impact
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-14 21:13    [W:0.258 / U:2.708 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site