lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v6 1/3] perf/x86/intel/uncore: Cache logical pkg id in uncore driver
Date
From: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>

The SNB-EP uncore driver is the only user of topology_phys_to_logical_pkg
in a performance critical path. Change it query the logical pkg ID
only once at initialization time and then cache it in box structure.

[v2]: Used the existing pkgid, Logical package ID, which was already stored.

Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Piotr Luc <piotr.luc@intel.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Arvind Yadav <arvind.yadav.cs@gmail.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: He Chen <he.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mathias Krause <minipli@googlemail.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
---
arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.c | 4 ++--
arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.h | 2 +-
arch/x86/events/intel/uncore_snbep.c | 2 +-
3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.c b/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.c
index d45e06346f14..7874c980d569 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.c
@@ -975,10 +975,10 @@ static void uncore_pci_remove(struct pci_dev *pdev)
int i, phys_id, pkg;

phys_id = uncore_pcibus_to_physid(pdev->bus);
- pkg = topology_phys_to_logical_pkg(phys_id);

box = pci_get_drvdata(pdev);
if (!box) {
+ pkg = topology_phys_to_logical_pkg(phys_id);
for (i = 0; i < UNCORE_EXTRA_PCI_DEV_MAX; i++) {
if (uncore_extra_pci_dev[pkg].dev[i] == pdev) {
uncore_extra_pci_dev[pkg].dev[i] = NULL;
@@ -994,7 +994,7 @@ static void uncore_pci_remove(struct pci_dev *pdev)
return;

pci_set_drvdata(pdev, NULL);
- pmu->boxes[pkg] = NULL;
+ pmu->boxes[box->pkgid] = NULL;
if (atomic_dec_return(&pmu->activeboxes) == 0)
uncore_pmu_unregister(pmu);
uncore_box_exit(box);
diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.h b/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.h
index 4364191e7c6b..414dc7e7c950 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.h
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore.h
@@ -100,7 +100,7 @@ struct intel_uncore_extra_reg {

struct intel_uncore_box {
int pci_phys_id;
- int pkgid;
+ int pkgid; /* Logical package ID */
int n_active; /* number of active events */
int n_events;
int cpu; /* cpu to collect events */
diff --git a/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore_snbep.c b/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore_snbep.c
index 95cb19f4e06f..de8f8625213c 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore_snbep.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/uncore_snbep.c
@@ -1057,7 +1057,7 @@ static void snbep_qpi_enable_event(struct intel_uncore_box *box, struct perf_eve

if (reg1->idx != EXTRA_REG_NONE) {
int idx = box->pmu->pmu_idx + SNBEP_PCI_QPI_PORT0_FILTER;
- int pkg = topology_phys_to_logical_pkg(box->pci_phys_id);
+ int pkg = box->pkgid;
struct pci_dev *filter_pdev = uncore_extra_pci_dev[pkg].dev[idx];

if (filter_pdev) {
--
2.15.0.rc0.39.g2f0e14e64
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-14 13:43    [W:0.057 / U:4.392 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site