lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/urgent] x86/umip: Print a line in the boot log that UMIP has been enabled
Commit-ID:  770c77557757873808a474016a3cae4b37690cb2
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/770c77557757873808a474016a3cae4b37690cb2
Author: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 13 Nov 2017 22:29:43 -0800
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 14 Nov 2017 08:38:09 +0100

x86/umip: Print a line in the boot log that UMIP has been enabled

Indicate that this feature has been enabled.

Suggested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: ricardo.neri@intel.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1510640985-18412-3-git-send-email-ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com
[ Changelog tweaks. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
index 13ae9e5..fa998ca 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
@@ -341,6 +341,8 @@ static __always_inline void setup_umip(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)

cr4_set_bits(X86_CR4_UMIP);

+ pr_info("x86/cpu: Activated the Intel User Mode Instruction Prevention (UMIP) CPU feature\n");
+
return;

out:
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-14 10:36    [W:0.082 / U:0.296 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site