lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/urgent] x86/umip: Select X86_INTEL_UMIP by default
Commit-ID:  796ebc81b9931bfa293b4ca38ae28c21a363f4d0
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/796ebc81b9931bfa293b4ca38ae28c21a363f4d0
Author: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 13 Nov 2017 22:29:42 -0800
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 14 Nov 2017 08:38:08 +0100

x86/umip: Select X86_INTEL_UMIP by default

UMIP does cause any performance penalty to the vast majority of x86 code
that does not use the legacy instructions affected by UMIP.

Also describe UMIP more accurately and explain the behavior that can be
expected by the (few) applications that use the affected instructions.

Suggested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: ricardo.neri@intel.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1510640985-18412-2-git-send-email-ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com
[ Spelling fixes, rewrote the changelog. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 12 +++++++++---
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index f08977d..a0623f0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -1805,14 +1805,20 @@ config X86_SMAP
If unsure, say Y.

config X86_INTEL_UMIP
- def_bool n
+ def_bool y
depends on CPU_SUP_INTEL
prompt "Intel User Mode Instruction Prevention" if EXPERT
---help---
The User Mode Instruction Prevention (UMIP) is a security
feature in newer Intel processors. If enabled, a general
- protection fault is issued if the instructions SGDT, SLDT,
- SIDT, SMSW and STR are executed in user mode.
+ protection fault is issued if the SGDT, SLDT, SIDT, SMSW
+ or STR instructions are executed in user mode. These instructions
+ unnecessarily expose information about the hardware state.
+
+ The vast majority of applications do not use these instructions.
+ For the very few that do, software emulation is provided in
+ specific cases in protected and virtual-8086 modes. Emulated
+ results are dummy.

config X86_INTEL_MPX
prompt "Intel MPX (Memory Protection Extensions)"
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-14 10:36    [W:0.082 / U:12.200 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site