lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH for 4.14 1/2] membarrier: Remove unused code for architectures without membarrier hooks
On Thu, Oct 05, 2017 at 06:33:26PM -0400, Mathieu Desnoyers wrote:
> Architectures without membarrier hooks don't need to emit the
> empty membarrier_arch_switch_mm() static inline when
> CONFIG_MEMBARRIER=y.
>
> Adapt the CONFIG_MEMBARRIER=n counterpart to only emit the empty
> membarrier_arch_switch_mm() for architectures with membarrier hooks.
>
> Reported-by: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
> Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>

Queued for further review and testing, targeting v4.15. Please let me
know if you need it sooner.

Thanx, Paul

> CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> CC: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
> CC: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com>
> CC: Maged Michael <maged.michael@gmail.com>
> CC: gromer@google.com
> CC: Avi Kivity <avi@scylladb.com>
> CC: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
> CC: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> CC: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
> CC: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
> CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> CC: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> CC: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> CC: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
> ---
> include/linux/sched/mm.h | 6 ++----
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/sched/mm.h b/include/linux/sched/mm.h
> index d5a9ab8f3836..b2767ecb21a8 100644
> --- a/include/linux/sched/mm.h
> +++ b/include/linux/sched/mm.h
> @@ -215,10 +215,6 @@ static inline void memalloc_noreclaim_restore(unsigned int flags)
> #ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_HOOKS
> #include <asm/membarrier.h>
> #else
> -static inline void membarrier_arch_switch_mm(struct mm_struct *prev,
> - struct mm_struct *next, struct task_struct *tsk)
> -{
> -}
> static inline void membarrier_arch_fork(struct task_struct *t,
> unsigned long clone_flags)
> {
> @@ -247,10 +243,12 @@ static inline void membarrier_execve(struct task_struct *t)
> membarrier_arch_execve(t);
> }
> #else
> +#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_HOOKS
> static inline void membarrier_arch_switch_mm(struct mm_struct *prev,
> struct mm_struct *next, struct task_struct *tsk)
> {
> }
> +#endif
> static inline void membarrier_fork(struct task_struct *t,
> unsigned long clone_flags)
> {
> --
> 2.11.0
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-06 23:09    [W:0.045 / U:4.856 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site