lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 1/2] arm64: Ensure the instruction emulation is ready for userspace
Date
We trap and emulate some instructions (e.g, mrs, deprecated instructions)
for the userspace. However the handlers for these are registered as
late_initcalls and the userspace could be up and running from the initramfs
by that time (with populate_rootfs, which is a rootfs_initcall()). This
could cause problems for the early applications ending up in failure
like :

[ 11.152061] modprobe[93]: undefined instruction: pc=0000ffff8ca48ff4

This patch promotes the specific calls to core_initcalls, which are
guaranteed to be completed before we hit userspace.

Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dave Martin <dave.martin@arm.com>
Cc: Matthias Brugger <mbrugger@suse.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Reported-by: Matwey V. Kornilov <matwey.kornilov@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
---
arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c | 2 +-
arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c | 2 +-
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c
index f0e6d717885b..d06fbe4cd38d 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c
@@ -649,4 +649,4 @@ static int __init armv8_deprecated_init(void)
return 0;
}

-late_initcall(armv8_deprecated_init);
+core_initcall(armv8_deprecated_init);
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
index cd52d365d1f0..21e2c95d24e7 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
@@ -1307,4 +1307,4 @@ static int __init enable_mrs_emulation(void)
return 0;
}

-late_initcall(enable_mrs_emulation);
+core_initcall(enable_mrs_emulation);
--
2.13.6
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-06 15:18    [W:0.045 / U:3.520 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site