lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/urgent] perf callchain: Compare dsos (as well) for CCKEY_FUNCTION
Commit-ID:  c1fbc0cf81f1c464f5fda322c1104d4bb1da6711
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/c1fbc0cf81f1c464f5fda322c1104d4bb1da6711
Author: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 5 Oct 2017 14:42:34 +0530
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Thu, 5 Oct 2017 10:52:54 -0300

perf callchain: Compare dsos (as well) for CCKEY_FUNCTION

Two functions from different binaries can have same start address. Thus,
comparing only start address in match_chain() leads to inconsistent
callchains. Fix this by adding a check for dsos as well.

Ex, https://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-perf-users/msg04067.html

Reported-by: Alexander Pozdneev <pozdneyev@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Krister Johansen <kjlx@templeofstupid.com>
Cc: Milian Wolff <milian.wolff@kdab.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Yao Jin <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: zhangmengting@huawei.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171005091234.5874-1-ravi.bangoria@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/callchain.c | 6 +++++-
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/callchain.c b/tools/perf/util/callchain.c
index be09d77..a971caf 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/callchain.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/callchain.c
@@ -685,6 +685,8 @@ static enum match_result match_chain(struct callchain_cursor_node *node,
{
struct symbol *sym = node->sym;
u64 left, right;
+ struct dso *left_dso = NULL;
+ struct dso *right_dso = NULL;

if (callchain_param.key == CCKEY_SRCLINE) {
enum match_result match = match_chain_srcline(node, cnode);
@@ -696,12 +698,14 @@ static enum match_result match_chain(struct callchain_cursor_node *node,
if (cnode->ms.sym && sym && callchain_param.key == CCKEY_FUNCTION) {
left = cnode->ms.sym->start;
right = sym->start;
+ left_dso = cnode->ms.map->dso;
+ right_dso = node->map->dso;
} else {
left = cnode->ip;
right = node->ip;
}

- if (left == right) {
+ if (left == right && left_dso == right_dso) {
if (node->branch) {
cnode->branch_count++;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-05 20:17    [W:0.062 / U:3.676 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site