lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:timers/core] timer: Remove expires argument from __TIMER_INITIALIZER()
Commit-ID:  8ede369b2cccfa585e2969bbed18edc0e2a18c50
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/8ede369b2cccfa585e2969bbed18edc0e2a18c50
Author: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
AuthorDate: Wed, 4 Oct 2017 16:27:05 -0700
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Thu, 5 Oct 2017 15:01:21 +0200

timer: Remove expires argument from __TIMER_INITIALIZER()

The expires field is normally initialized during the first mod_timer()
call. It was unused by all callers, so remove it from the macro.

Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>
Cc: Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>
Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@qca.qualcomm.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Ursula Braun <ubraun@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Harish Patil <harish.patil@cavium.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Michael Reed <mdr@sgi.com>
Cc: Manish Chopra <manish.chopra@cavium.com>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Julian Wiedmann <jwi@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Mark Gross <mark.gross@intel.com>
Cc: linux-watchdog@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>
Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@gmail.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1507159627-127660-12-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

---
include/linux/kthread.h | 2 +-
include/linux/timer.h | 5 ++---
include/linux/workqueue.h | 2 +-
3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/kthread.h b/include/linux/kthread.h
index 82e197e..0d622b3 100644
--- a/include/linux/kthread.h
+++ b/include/linux/kthread.h
@@ -117,7 +117,7 @@ struct kthread_delayed_work {
#define KTHREAD_DELAYED_WORK_INIT(dwork, fn) { \
.work = KTHREAD_WORK_INIT((dwork).work, (fn)), \
.timer = __TIMER_INITIALIZER(kthread_delayed_work_timer_fn, \
- 0, (unsigned long)&(dwork), \
+ (unsigned long)&(dwork), \
TIMER_IRQSAFE), \
}

diff --git a/include/linux/timer.h b/include/linux/timer.h
index 91e5a2c..10685c3 100644
--- a/include/linux/timer.h
+++ b/include/linux/timer.h
@@ -63,10 +63,9 @@ struct timer_list {

#define TIMER_TRACE_FLAGMASK (TIMER_MIGRATING | TIMER_DEFERRABLE | TIMER_PINNED | TIMER_IRQSAFE)

-#define __TIMER_INITIALIZER(_function, _expires, _data, _flags) { \
+#define __TIMER_INITIALIZER(_function, _data, _flags) { \
.entry = { .next = TIMER_ENTRY_STATIC }, \
.function = (_function), \
- .expires = (_expires), \
.data = (_data), \
.flags = (_flags), \
__TIMER_LOCKDEP_MAP_INITIALIZER( \
@@ -75,7 +74,7 @@ struct timer_list {

#define DEFINE_TIMER(_name, _function) \
struct timer_list _name = \
- __TIMER_INITIALIZER(_function, 0, 0, 0)
+ __TIMER_INITIALIZER(_function, 0, 0)

void init_timer_key(struct timer_list *timer, unsigned int flags,
const char *name, struct lock_class_key *key);
diff --git a/include/linux/workqueue.h b/include/linux/workqueue.h
index 1c49431..f496026 100644
--- a/include/linux/workqueue.h
+++ b/include/linux/workqueue.h
@@ -176,7 +176,7 @@ struct execute_work {
#define __DELAYED_WORK_INITIALIZER(n, f, tflags) { \
.work = __WORK_INITIALIZER((n).work, (f)), \
.timer = __TIMER_INITIALIZER(delayed_work_timer_fn, \
- 0, (unsigned long)&(n), \
+ (unsigned long)&(n), \
(tflags) | TIMER_IRQSAFE), \
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-05 15:32    [W:0.198 / U:38.548 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site