lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:timers/core] timer: Remove users of expire and data arguments to DEFINE_TIMER
Commit-ID:  1ff97897454b9a59edc7cf2cf2d95586b1e7a2cf
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/1ff97897454b9a59edc7cf2cf2d95586b1e7a2cf
Author: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
AuthorDate: Wed, 4 Oct 2017 16:27:03 -0700
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Thu, 5 Oct 2017 15:01:20 +0200

timer: Remove users of expire and data arguments to DEFINE_TIMER

The expire and data arguments of DEFINE_TIMER are only used in two places
and are ignored by the code (malta-display.c only uses mod_timer(),
never add_timer(), so the preset expires value is ignored). Set both
sets of arguments to zero.

Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> # for watchdog parts
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Ursula Braun <ubraun@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Harish Patil <harish.patil@cavium.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Cc: Manish Chopra <manish.chopra@cavium.com>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Julian Wiedmann <jwi@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Gross <mark.gross@intel.com>
Cc: linux-watchdog@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@qca.qualcomm.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>
Cc: Michael Reed <mdr@sgi.com>
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@gmail.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1507159627-127660-10-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org

---
arch/mips/mti-malta/malta-display.c | 6 +++---
drivers/watchdog/alim7101_wdt.c | 4 ++--
2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/mips/mti-malta/malta-display.c b/arch/mips/mti-malta/malta-display.c
index d4f8071..ac81315 100644
--- a/arch/mips/mti-malta/malta-display.c
+++ b/arch/mips/mti-malta/malta-display.c
@@ -36,10 +36,10 @@ void mips_display_message(const char *str)
}
}

-static void scroll_display_message(unsigned long data);
-static DEFINE_TIMER(mips_scroll_timer, scroll_display_message, HZ, 0);
+static void scroll_display_message(unsigned long unused);
+static DEFINE_TIMER(mips_scroll_timer, scroll_display_message, 0, 0);

-static void scroll_display_message(unsigned long data)
+static void scroll_display_message(unsigned long unused)
{
mips_display_message(&display_string[display_count++]);
if (display_count == max_display_count)
diff --git a/drivers/watchdog/alim7101_wdt.c b/drivers/watchdog/alim7101_wdt.c
index 665e0e7..3c1f6ac 100644
--- a/drivers/watchdog/alim7101_wdt.c
+++ b/drivers/watchdog/alim7101_wdt.c
@@ -71,7 +71,7 @@ MODULE_PARM_DESC(use_gpio,
"Use the gpio watchdog (required by old cobalt boards).");

static void wdt_timer_ping(unsigned long);
-static DEFINE_TIMER(timer, wdt_timer_ping, 0, 1);
+static DEFINE_TIMER(timer, wdt_timer_ping, 0, 0);
static unsigned long next_heartbeat;
static unsigned long wdt_is_open;
static char wdt_expect_close;
@@ -87,7 +87,7 @@ MODULE_PARM_DESC(nowayout,
* Whack the dog
*/

-static void wdt_timer_ping(unsigned long data)
+static void wdt_timer_ping(unsigned long unused)
{
/* If we got a heartbeat pulse within the WDT_US_INTERVAL
* we agree to ping the WDT
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-05 15:21    [W:0.192 / U:0.528 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site