lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Apr]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 35/41] sched: Update rq clock before idle balancing
Date
idle_balance() is called from schedule() right before we schedule the
idle task. It needs to record the idle timestamp at that time and for
this the rq clock must be accurate. If the CPU is running tickless
we need to update the rq clock manually.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com>
Cc: Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Sven-Thorsten Dietrich <thebigcorporation@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 1 +
1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)
diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index eff80e0..cd871e7 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -4638,6 +4638,7 @@ void idle_balance(int this_cpu, struct rq *this_rq)
int pulled_task = 0;
unsigned long next_balance = jiffies + HZ;

+ update_nohz_rq_clock(this_rq);
this_rq->idle_stamp = this_rq->clock;

if (this_rq->avg_idle < sysctl_sched_migration_cost)
--
1.7.5.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-05-01 02:21    [from the cache]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site