lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Mar]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/iommu] x86/iommu/intel: Fix identity mapping for sandy bridge
Commit-ID:  eae460b6590bb924d4e528d6cc7ccd4d993ff8dd
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/eae460b6590bb924d4e528d6cc7ccd4d993ff8dd
Author: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 5 Mar 2012 15:05:16 -0800
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
CommitDate: Tue, 6 Mar 2012 09:00:01 +0100

x86/iommu/intel: Fix identity mapping for sandy bridge

With SandyBridge, Intel has changed these Socket PCI devices to
have a class type of "System Peripheral" & "Performance
counter", rather than "HostBridge".

So instead of using a "special" case to detect which devices will
not be doing DMA, use the fact that a device that is not associated
with an IOMMU, will not need an identity map.

Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Mike Habeck <habeck@sgi.com>
Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
Cc: Daniel Rahn <drahn@suse.com>
Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joerg.roedel@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-018fywmjs3lmzfyzjlktg8dx@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
---
drivers/iommu/intel-iommu.c | 20 +++++++++-----------
1 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/iommu/intel-iommu.c b/drivers/iommu/intel-iommu.c
index c9c6053..8aa580d 100644
--- a/drivers/iommu/intel-iommu.c
+++ b/drivers/iommu/intel-iommu.c
@@ -48,8 +48,6 @@
#define ROOT_SIZE VTD_PAGE_SIZE
#define CONTEXT_SIZE VTD_PAGE_SIZE

-#define IS_BRIDGE_HOST_DEVICE(pdev) \
- ((pdev->class >> 8) == PCI_CLASS_BRIDGE_HOST)
#define IS_GFX_DEVICE(pdev) ((pdev->class >> 16) == PCI_BASE_CLASS_DISPLAY)
#define IS_ISA_DEVICE(pdev) ((pdev->class >> 8) == PCI_CLASS_BRIDGE_ISA)
#define IS_AZALIA(pdev) ((pdev)->vendor == 0x8086 && (pdev)->device == 0x3a3e)
@@ -2369,18 +2367,18 @@ static int __init iommu_prepare_static_identity_mapping(int hw)
return -EFAULT;

for_each_pci_dev(pdev) {
- /* Skip Host/PCI Bridge devices */
- if (IS_BRIDGE_HOST_DEVICE(pdev))
- continue;
if (iommu_should_identity_map(pdev, 1)) {
- printk(KERN_INFO "IOMMU: %s identity mapping for device %s\n",
- hw ? "hardware" : "software", pci_name(pdev));
-
ret = domain_add_dev_info(si_domain, pdev,
- hw ? CONTEXT_TT_PASS_THROUGH :
- CONTEXT_TT_MULTI_LEVEL);
- if (ret)
+ hw ? CONTEXT_TT_PASS_THROUGH :
+ CONTEXT_TT_MULTI_LEVEL);
+ if (ret) {
+ /* device not associated with an iommu */
+ if (ret == -ENODEV)
+ continue;
return ret;
+ }
+ pr_info("IOMMU: %s identity mapping for device %s\n",
+ hw ? "hardware" : "software", pci_name(pdev));
}
}


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-03-06 17:11    [W:0.037 / U:7.444 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site