lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Mar]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] perf: Add a new sort order: SORT_INCLUSIVE (v4)
Date
2012-03-15 2:36 AM, Arun Sharma wrote:
> Each entry that used to get added once to the histogram, now is added
> chain->nr times, each time with one less entry in the
> callchain.
>
> This will result in a non-leaf function that appears in a lot of
> samples to get a histogram entry with lots of hits.
>
> The user can then drill down into the callchains of functions that
> have high inclusive times.
>
> Sample command lines:
>
> $ perf record -ag -- sleep 1
> $ perf report -g graph,0.5,callee -n -s inclusive
>

Reviewed-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>

Thanks, looks good to me now - although I still prefer make it a switch to
alter the behavior of the existing "symbol" sort order to do "inclusive"
calculation of its periods, but I can live with this :).

> Signed-off-by: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
> CC: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>
> Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com>
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
> ---
> tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c | 2 +-
> tools/perf/builtin-diff.c | 2 +-
> tools/perf/builtin-report.c | 13 +++----
> tools/perf/builtin-top.c | 2 +-
> tools/perf/util/callchain.c | 15 ++++++++
> tools/perf/util/callchain.h | 4 ++
> tools/perf/util/hist.c | 80 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
> tools/perf/util/hist.h | 4 ++-
> tools/perf/util/sort.c | 14 +++++++
> tools/perf/util/sort.h | 4 ++
> 10 files changed, 126 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)
>



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-03-15 02:05    [from the cache]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site