lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Feb]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v8 0/8] Reduce cross CPU IPI interference
Date
From
On Sun, 05 Feb 2012 14:33:20 +0100, Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> wrote:
> This patch set, inspired by discussions with Peter Zijlstra and Frederic
> Weisbecker when testing the nohz task patch set, is a first stab at trying
> to explore doing this by locating the places where such global IPI calls
> are being made and turning the global IPI into an IPI for a specific group
> of CPUs. The purpose of the patch set is to get feedback if this is the
> right way to go for dealing with this issue and indeed, if the issue is
> even worth dealing with at all. Based on the feedback from this patch set
> I plan to offer further patches that address similar issue in other code
> paths.
>
> The patch creates an on_each_cpu_mask and on_each_cpu_cond infrastructure
> API (the former derived from existing arch specific versions in Tile and
> Arm) and uses them to turn several global IPI invocation to per CPU
> group invocations.

> Signed-off-by: Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
> CC: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> CC: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
> CC: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
> CC: linux-mm@kvack.org
> CC: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
> CC: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
> CC: Sasha Levin <levinsasha928@gmail.com>
> CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
> CC: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
> CC: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
> CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> CC: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> CC: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
> CC: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>

Acked-by: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>

for patches form 1 to 4 and 7. The other two (5 and 6) look good but
I don't know enough about slub and fs to feel confident acking.

> CC: Kosaki Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@gmail.com>
> CC: Milton Miller <miltonm@bga.com>

--
Best regards, _ _
.o. | Liege of Serenely Enlightened Majesty of o' \,=./ `o
..o | Computer Science, Michał “mina86” Nazarewicz (o o)
ooo +----<email/xmpp: mpn@google.com>--------------ooO--(_)--Ooo--
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-02-08 10:39    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans