lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Feb]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v8 4/8] smp: add func to IPI cpus based on parameter func
Date
From
On Sun, 05 Feb 2012 14:48:38 +0100, Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> wrote:

> Add the on_each_cpu_cond() function that wraps on_each_cpu_mask()
> and calculates the cpumask of cpus to IPI by calling a function supplied
> as a parameter in order to determine whether to IPI each specific cpu.
>
> The function works around allocation failure of cpumask variable in
> CONFIG_CPUMASK_OFFSTACK=y by itereating over cpus sending an IPI a
> time via smp_call_function_single().
>
> The function is useful since it allows to seperate the specific
> code that decided in each case whether to IPI a specific cpu for
> a specific request from the common boilerplate code of handling
> creating the mask, handling failures etc.
>
> Signed-off-by: Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
> CC: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
> CC: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
> CC: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
> CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
> CC: linux-mm@kvack.org
> CC: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
> CC: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
> CC: Sasha Levin <levinsasha928@gmail.com>
> CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
> CC: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
> CC: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> CC: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
> CC: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
> CC: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>
> CC: Kosaki Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@gmail.com>
> CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> CC: Milton Miller <miltonm@bga.com>
> ---
> include/linux/smp.h | 24 ++++++++++++++++++++
> kernel/smp.c | 60 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> 2 files changed, 84 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/smp.h b/include/linux/smp.h
> index d0adb78..da4d034 100644
> --- a/include/linux/smp.h
> +++ b/include/linux/smp.h
> @@ -153,6 +162,21 @@ static inline int up_smp_call_function(smp_call_func_t func, void *info)
> local_irq_enable(); \
> } \
> } while (0)
> +/*
> + * Preemption is disabled here to make sure the
> + * cond_func is called under the same condtions in UP
> + * and SMP.
> + */
> +#define on_each_cpu_cond(cond_func, func, info, wait, gfp_flags) \
> + do { \

How about:

void *__info = (info);

as to avoid double execution.

> + preempt_disable(); \
> + if (cond_func(0, info)) { \
> + local_irq_disable(); \
> + (func)(info); \
> + local_irq_enable(); \
> + } \
> + preempt_enable(); \
> + } while (0)
> static inline void smp_send_reschedule(int cpu) { }
> #define num_booting_cpus() 1

--
Best regards, _ _
.o. | Liege of Serenely Enlightened Majesty of o' \,=./ `o
..o | Computer Science, Michał “mina86” Nazarewicz (o o)
ooo +----<email/xmpp: mpn@google.com>--------------ooO--(_)--Ooo--
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-02-08 10:33    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans