lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Jan]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 06/10] cgroups: pull up res counter charge failure interpretation to caller
Date
res_counter_charge() always returns -ENOMEM when the limit is reached and
the charge thus can't happen.

However it's up to the caller to interpret this failure and return the
appropriate error value. The task counter subsystem will need to report
the user that a fork() has been cancelled because of some limit reached,
not because we are too short on memory.

Fix this by returning -1 when res_counter_charge() fails.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Menage <paul@paulmenage.org>
Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Aditya Kali <adityakali@google.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Tim Hockin <thockin@hockin.org>
Cc: Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
Cc: Containers <containers@lists.linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Glauber Costa <glommer@gmail.com>
Cc: Cgroups <cgroups@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Daniel J Walsh <dwalsh@redhat.com>
Cc: "Daniel P. Berrange" <berrange@redhat.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Max Kellermann <mk@cm4all.com>
Cc: Mandeep Singh Baines <msb@chromium.org>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---
Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt | 2 ++
kernel/res_counter.c | 2 +-
2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
diff --git a/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt b/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
index a2cd05b..24ec61c 100644
--- a/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
+++ b/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
@@ -76,6 +76,8 @@ to work with it.
limit_fail_at parameter is set to the particular res_counter element
where the charging failed.

+ It returns 0 on success and -1 on failure.
+
d. int res_counter_charge_locked
(struct res_counter *rc, unsigned long val)

diff --git a/kernel/res_counter.c b/kernel/res_counter.c
index d2fc4cd..78cc444 100644
--- a/kernel/res_counter.c
+++ b/kernel/res_counter.c
@@ -26,7 +26,7 @@ int res_counter_charge_locked(struct res_counter *counter, unsigned long val)
{
if (counter->usage + val > counter->limit) {
counter->failcnt++;
- return -ENOMEM;
+ return -1;
}

counter->usage += val;
--
1.7.5.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-02-01 04:41    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans