lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Sep]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    Date
    From
    Subject[PATCH 2/2] mm: restrict access to /proc/meminfo
    /proc/meminfo stores information related to memory pages usage, which
    may be used to monitor the number of objects in specific caches (and/or
    the changes of these numbers). This might reveal private information
    similar to /proc/slabinfo infoleaks. To remove the infoleak, just
    restrict meminfo to root. If it is used by unprivileged daemons,
    meminfo permissions can be altered the same way as slabinfo:

    groupadd meminfo
    usermod -a -G meminfo $MONITOR_USER
    chmod g+r /proc/meminfo
    chgrp meminfo /proc/meminfo

    Signed-off-by: Vasiliy Kulikov <segoon@openwall.com>
    CC: Kees Cook <kees@ubuntu.com>
    CC: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    CC: Christoph Lameter <cl@gentwo.org>
    CC: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
    CC: Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu
    CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    CC: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    CC: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
    ---
    fs/proc/meminfo.c | 2 +-
    1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)

    --
    diff --git a/fs/proc/meminfo.c b/fs/proc/meminfo.c
    index 5861741..949bdee 100644
    --- a/fs/proc/meminfo.c
    +++ b/fs/proc/meminfo.c
    @@ -187,7 +187,7 @@ static const struct file_operations meminfo_proc_fops = {

    static int __init proc_meminfo_init(void)
    {
    - proc_create("meminfo", 0, NULL, &meminfo_proc_fops);
    + proc_create("meminfo", S_IFREG | S_IRUSR, NULL, &meminfo_proc_fops);
    return 0;
    }
    module_init(proc_meminfo_init);

    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-09-27 19:59    [W:0.020 / U:0.540 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site