lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jul]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v5 4/9] KVM-HV: KVM Steal time implementation
On 07/04/2011 11:32 AM, Glauber Costa wrote:
> To implement steal time, we need the hypervisor to pass the guest
> information about how much time was spent running other processes
> outside the VM, while the vcpu had meaningful work to do - halt
> time does not count.
>
> This information is acquired through the run_delay field of
> delayacct/schedstats infrastructure, that counts time spent in a
> runqueue but not running.
>
> Steal time is a per-cpu information, so the traditional MSR-based
> infrastructure is used. A new msr, KVM_MSR_STEAL_TIME, holds the
> memory area address containing information about steal time
>
> This patch contains the hypervisor part of the steal time infrasructure,
> and can be backported independently of the guest portion.
>
> Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa<glommer@redhat.com>
> CC: Rik van Riel<riel@redhat.com>
> CC: Jeremy Fitzhardinge<jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
> CC: Peter Zijlstra<peterz@infradead.org>
> CC: Avi Kivity<avi@redhat.com>
> CC: Anthony Liguori<aliguori@us.ibm.com>
> CC: Eric B Munson<emunson@mgebm.net>

Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>


--
All rights reversed


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-07-06 18:11    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans