lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 8/9] KVM-GST: adjust scheduler cpu power
On Wed, 29 Jun 2011, Glauber Costa wrote:

> This is a first proposal for using steal time information
> to influence the scheduler. There are a lot of optimizations
> and fine grained adjustments to be done, but it is working reasonably
> so far for me (mostly)
>
> With this patch (and some host pinnings to demonstrate the situation),
> two vcpus with very different steal time (Say 80 % vs 1 %) will not get
> an even distribution of processes. This is a situation that can naturally
> arise, specially in overcommited scenarios. Previosly, the guest scheduler
> would wrongly think that all cpus have the same ability to run processes,
> lowering the overall throughput.
>
> Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@redhat.com>
> CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
> CC: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
> CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> CC: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
> CC: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com>
> CC: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>

Tested-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>

[unhandled content-type:application/pgp-signature]
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-06-29 23:59    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans