lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Nov]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [lm-sensors] [PATCH] hwmon: convert drivers/hwmon/* to use module_i2c_driver()
    On Fri, Nov 25, 2011 at 11:57:08AM -0500, Guenter Roeck wrote:
    > On Fri, Nov 25, 2011 at 02:06:27AM -0500, Axel Lin wrote:
    > > This patch converts the drivers in drivers/hwmon/* to use the
    > > module_i2c_driver() macro which makes the code smaller and a bit
    > > simpler.
    > >
    > > Cc: Corentin Labbe <corentin.labbe@geomatys.fr>
    > > Cc: Dirk Eibach <eibach@gdsys.de>
    > > Cc: "Mark M. Hoffman" <mhoffman@lightlink.com>
    > > Cc: Steve Glendinning <steve.glendinning@smsc.com>
    > > Cc: Riku Voipio <riku.voipio@iki.fi>
    > > Cc: Guillaume Ligneul <guillaume.ligneul@gmail.com>
    > > Cc: David George <david.george@ska.ac.za>
    > > Cc: "Hans J. Koch" <hjk@hansjkoch.de>
    > > Cc: Marc Hulsman <m.hulsman@tudelft.nl>
    > > Cc: Rudolf Marek <r.marek@assembler.cz>
    > > Signed-off-by: Axel Lin <axel.lin@gmail.com>
    >
    > Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>
    >
    > What is the plan for those patches ? Are they expected to all go through the same tree,
    > or through individual trees after the necessary defines are introduced into mainline ?
    >
    My question was answered in another thread related to the misc subsystem.
    The patch this one depends on will only be available in 3.3-rc1. It would have been
    nice to let us know ahead of time, because I _did_ find out the hard way.

    I would suggest to resubmit the i2c and spi patches against a working baseline
    once it is available, to make sure it does not miss some new drivers.

    On a side note, this patch does miss the drivers in hwmon/pmbus, but I can take care
    of those myself.

    Guenter


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-11-27 18:37    [W:0.022 / U:32.240 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site