lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Oct]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] exec: log when wait_for_dump_helpers aborts due to a signal
Date
To allow coredump pipe readers to look at /proc/<pid> of the crashing
process, the kernel waits for the reader to exit. However, the wait
is silently aborted if the crashing process is signalled.

This patch, logs whenever wait_for_dump_helpers is aborted or in order
to assist in debugging cases where /proc/<pid> is gone.

Alternatively, we may want to consider not aborting on a signal. You
could always break the loop by killing the reader process.

Reference: http://crosbug.com/21559
Signed-off-by: Mandeep Singh Baines <msb@chromium.org>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Cc: Earl Chew <earl_chew@agilent.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
---
fs/exec.c | 9 ++++++++-
1 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
diff --git a/fs/exec.c b/fs/exec.c
index 25dcbe5..5d4190d 100644
--- a/fs/exec.c
+++ b/fs/exec.c
@@ -2030,7 +2030,14 @@ static void wait_for_dump_helpers(struct file *file)
pipe->readers++;
pipe->writers--;

- while ((pipe->readers > 1) && (!signal_pending(current))) {
+ while (pipe->readers > 1) {
+ if (signal_pending(current)) {
+ pr_info("wait_for_dump_helpers[%d]: "
+ "aborted due to signal\n",
+ task_pid_nr(current));
+ break;
+ }
+
wake_up_interruptible_sync(&pipe->wait);
kill_fasync(&pipe->fasync_readers, SIGIO, POLL_IN);
pipe_wait(pipe);
--
1.7.3.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2011-10-26 03:11    [W:0.505 / U:0.920 seconds]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site