lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Sep]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
Subject[sparc build bug] Re: [tip:perf/core] irq: Add tracepoint to softirq_raise

* tip-bot for Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com> wrote:

> Commit-ID: 2bf2160d8805de64308e2e7c3cd97813cb58ed2f
> Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/2bf2160d8805de64308e2e7c3cd97813cb58ed2f
> Author: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
> AuthorDate: Mon, 23 Aug 2010 18:42:48 +0900
> Committer: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
> CommitDate: Tue, 7 Sep 2010 17:49:34 +0200
>
> irq: Add tracepoint to softirq_raise
>
> Add a tracepoint for tracing when softirq action is raised.
>
> This and the existing tracepoints complete softirq's tracepoints:
> softirq_raise, softirq_entry and softirq_exit.
>
> And when this tracepoint is used in combination with
> the softirq_entry tracepoint we can determine
> the softirq raise latency.
>
> Signed-off-by: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
> Acked-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
> Acked-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Kaneshige Kenji <kaneshige.kenji@jp.fujitsu.com>
> Cc: Izumo Taku <izumi.taku@jp.fujitsu.com>
> Cc: Kosaki Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
> Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
> Cc: Scott Mcmillan <scott.a.mcmillan@intel.com>
> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
> LKML-Reference: <4C724298.4050509@jp.fujitsu.com>
> [ factorize softirq events with DECLARE_EVENT_CLASS ]
> Signed-off-by: Koki Sanagi <sanagi.koki@jp.fujitsu.com>
> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
> ---
> include/linux/interrupt.h | 8 +++++++-
> include/trace/events/irq.h | 26 ++++++++++++++++++++++++--
> 2 files changed, 31 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

FYI, this commit broke the Sparc build:

In file included from /home/mingo/tip/arch/sparc/include/asm/irq_32.h:11,
from /home/mingo/tip/arch/sparc/include/asm/irq.h:6,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/linux/irqnr.h:10,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/linux/irq.h:22,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/asm-generic/hardirq.h:6,
from /home/mingo/tip/arch/sparc/include/asm/hardirq_32.h:11,
from /home/mingo/tip/arch/sparc/include/asm/hardirq.h:6,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/linux/hardirq.h:10,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/linux/ftrace_event.h:7,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/trace/syscall.h:6,
from /home/mingo/tip/include/linux/syscalls.h:76,
from /home/mingo/tip/init/initramfs.c:9:
/home/mingo/tip/include/linux/interrupt.h: In function '__raise_softirq_irqoff':
/home/mingo/tip/include/linux/interrupt.h:414: error: implicit declaration of function 'local_softirq_pending'
/home/mingo/tip/include/linux/interrupt.h:414: error: lvalue required as left operand of assignment
make[2]: *** [init/initramfs.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
In file included from /home/mingo/tip/arch/sparc/include/asm/irq_32.h:11,
Ingo


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-09-08 13:29    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans