lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Aug]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] kvm: fix poison overwritten caused by using wrong xstate size
Avi, do you want to take this one or should I?

-hpa

On 08/13/2010 12:19 AM, Xiaotian Feng wrote:
> fpu.state is allocated from task_xstate_cachep, the size of task_xstate_cachep
> is xstate_size. xstate_size is set from cpuid instruction, which is often
> smaller than sizeof(struct xsave_struct). kvm is using sizeof(struct xsave_struct)
> to fill in/out fpu.state.xsave, as what we allocated for fpu.state is
> xstate_size, kernel will write out of memory and caused poison/redzone/padding
> overwritten warnings.
>
> Signed-off-by: Xiaotian Feng <dfeng@redhat.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
> Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
> Cc: Sheng Yang <sheng@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
> Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
> Cc: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/kernel/i387.c | 1 +
> arch/x86/kvm/x86.c | 4 ++--
> 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/i387.c b/arch/x86/kernel/i387.c
> index 1f11f5c..a46cb35 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/kernel/i387.c
> +++ b/arch/x86/kernel/i387.c
> @@ -40,6 +40,7 @@
>
> static unsigned int mxcsr_feature_mask __read_mostly = 0xffffffffu;
> unsigned int xstate_size;
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(xstate_size);
> unsigned int sig_xstate_ia32_size = sizeof(struct _fpstate_ia32);
> static struct i387_fxsave_struct fx_scratch __cpuinitdata;
>
> diff --git a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
> index 25f1907..3a09c62 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
> +++ b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
> @@ -2387,7 +2387,7 @@ static void kvm_vcpu_ioctl_x86_get_xsave(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu,
> if (cpu_has_xsave)
> memcpy(guest_xsave->region,
> &vcpu->arch.guest_fpu.state->xsave,
> - sizeof(struct xsave_struct));
> + xstate_size);
> else {
> memcpy(guest_xsave->region,
> &vcpu->arch.guest_fpu.state->fxsave,
> @@ -2405,7 +2405,7 @@ static int kvm_vcpu_ioctl_x86_set_xsave(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu,
>
> if (cpu_has_xsave)
> memcpy(&vcpu->arch.guest_fpu.state->xsave,
> - guest_xsave->region, sizeof(struct xsave_struct));
> + guest_xsave->region, xstate_size);
> else {
> if (xstate_bv & ~XSTATE_FPSSE)
> return -EINVAL;



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-08-13 23:07    [W:0.079 / U:0.120 seconds]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site