lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Feb]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/9] platform-drivers: move probe to .devinit.text in arch/arm
On Thu, Feb 04, 2010 at 08:56:49PM +0100, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> A pointer to a probe callback is passed to the core via
> platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the
> .init sections are discarded. Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y)
> unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an
> oops as does a device being registered late.
>
> An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of
> platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function
> from the struct platform_driver.
>
> Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Arnaud Patard <arnaud.patard@rtp-net.org>
> Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org>
> Cc: Dmitry Baryshkov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com>
> Cc: Eric Miao <eric.miao@marvell.com>
> Cc: Kristoffer Ericson <Kristoffer.Ericson@gmail.com>
> Cc: Liam Girdwood <liam.girdwood@wolfsonmicro.com>
> Cc: Paul Sokolovsky <pmiscml@gmail.com>
> Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net>
> Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>

sharpsl_pm part:
Acked-by: Dmitry Eremin-Solenikov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com>

--
With best wishes
Dmitry

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-02-04 21:59    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans