lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Dec]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/9] drivers/net: don't use flush_scheduled_work()
    From
    Date

    On Sun, 2010-12-12 at 07:52 -0800, Tejun Heo wrote:
    > flush_scheduled_work() is on its way out. This patch contains simple
    > conversions to replace flush_scheduled_work() usage with direct
    > cancels and flushes.
    >
    > Directly cancel the used works on driver detach and flush them in
    > other cases.
    >
    > The conversions are mostly straight forward and the only dangers are,
    >
    > * Forgetting to cancel/flush one or more used works.
    >
    > * Cancelling when a work should be flushed (ie. the work must be
    > executed once scheduled whether the driver is detaching or not).
    >
    > I've gone over the changes multiple times but it would be much
    > appreciated if you can review with the above points in mind.
    >
    > Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
    > Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    > Cc: Jay Cliburn <jcliburn@gmail.com>
    > Cc: Michael Chan <mchan@broadcom.com>
    > Cc: Divy Le Ray <divy@chelsio.com>
    > Cc: e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
    > Cc: Vasanthy Kolluri <vkolluri@cisco.com>
    > Cc: Samuel Ortiz <samuel@sortiz.org>
    > Cc: Lennert Buytenhek <buytenh@wantstofly.org>
    > Cc: Andrew Gallatin <gallatin@myri.com>
    > Cc: Francois Romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com>
    > Cc: Ramkrishna Vepa <ramkrishna.vepa@exar.com>
    > Cc: Matt Carlson <mcarlson@broadcom.com>
    > Cc: David Brownell <dbrownell@users.sourceforge.net>
    > Cc: Shreyas Bhatewara <sbhatewara@vmware.com>
    > Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
    > ---

    > diff --git a/drivers/net/bnx2.c b/drivers/net/bnx2.c
    > index 03209a3..5c811f3 100644
    > --- a/drivers/net/bnx2.c
    > +++ b/drivers/net/bnx2.c
    > @@ -8393,7 +8393,7 @@ bnx2_remove_one(struct pci_dev *pdev)
    > struct net_device *dev = pci_get_drvdata(pdev);
    > struct bnx2 *bp = netdev_priv(dev);
    >
    > - flush_scheduled_work();
    > + cancel_work_sync(&bp->reset_task);

    I think we can just remove flush_scheduled_work() altogether in
    bnx2_remove_one(). The work has already been canceled in bnx2_close(),
    so there is no possibility of it to be scheduled at this point.

    >
    > unregister_netdev(dev);
    >
    > @@ -8431,7 +8431,7 @@ bnx2_suspend(struct pci_dev *pdev, pm_message_t
    > state)
    > if (!netif_running(dev))
    > return 0;
    >
    > - flush_scheduled_work();
    > + cancel_work_sync(&bp->reset_task);

    This part ok. Thanks.

    Acked-by: Michael Chan <mchan@broadcom.com>

    > bnx2_netif_stop(bp, true);
    > netif_device_detach(dev);
    > del_timer_sync(&bp->timer);




    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2010-12-13 18:15    [W:0.033 / U:0.380 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site