lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Nov]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH] ipc: explicitly clear stack memory in user structs
    On Tue, Nov 09, 2010 at 05:03:30PM -0800, Joe Perches wrote:
    > On Tue, 2010-11-09 at 16:54 -0800, Linus Torvalds wrote:
    > > On Tue, Nov 9, 2010 at 3:48 PM, Kees Cook <kees.cook@canonical.com> wrote:
    > > >> I don't quite see where you got the particular collection of people from.
    > > > I used scripts/get_maintainer.pl
    > > Hmm. I get totally different results. You had
    > > linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
    > > Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
    > > Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
    > > Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>,
    > > "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    > > and I get
    > > Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
    > > Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    > > Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
    > > David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    > > Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    > > linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
    > > so there is something odd going on there.
    >
    > I'd like to know as well.

    Well, let's see what happens. If I rewind the tree to roughly
    542181d3769d001c59cd17573dd4381e87d215f2 taking a wild guess at where my
    tree was when I send the patch, and run it, here's what I get:

    $ ./scripts/get_maintainer.pl 0001-ipc-initialize-structure-memory-to-zero-in-shm.patch
    Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
    "Serge E. Hallyn" <serue@us.ibm.com>
    "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org

    And since I know Serge's address isn't at ibm any more, I dropped it from
    Cc, assuming he didn't care about ipc structure fixups.

    If I fast-forward to today and run it, I get the same output you do.

    -Kees

    --
    Kees Cook
    Ubuntu Security Team


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2010-11-10 03:03    [W:0.020 / U:60.588 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site