lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Nov]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] Revert oom rewrite series
On Tue, 16 Nov 2010 11:03:10 +0000
Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk> wrote:
> > 5.6p1 is the latest-n-greatest released version on www.openssh.org, so somebody
> > probably needs to rattle their chain...
>
> But current openssh needs to support old kernels.
>
> This is why this kind of obsoleting doesn't work well. It's not "update
> your app" so much as "drop support for older stuff or start doing
> complicated crap dependant on version"
>
> and it's why for tiny amounts of code it is the *wrong* thing to force
> obsolete stuff especially when it still doesn't seem to have been
> properly marked for deprecation in the first place.
>

How does one mark it apropriately?
The commit 51b1bd2 (oom: deprecate oom_adj tunable, see below)
added it to feature-removal-schedule.txt, a patch for
Documentation/ABI has also been provided in the meantime, if i'm not
mistaken.

And there is already a patch for openssh:
https://bugzilla.mindrot.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1838

Regards,
Flo

commit 51b1bd2ace1595b72956224deda349efa880b693
Author: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Date: Mon Aug 9 17:19:47 2010 -0700

oom: deprecate oom_adj tunable

/proc/pid/oom_adj is now deprecated so that that it may eventually be
removed. The target date for removal is August 2012.

A warning will be printed to the kernel log if a task attempts to use this
interface. Future warning will be suppressed until the kernel is rebooted
to prevent spamming the kernel log.

Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@in.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-11-16 14:07    [from the cache]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site