lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Aug]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH v4 0/4] tracing: tweaks for generic syscall events
Date
This patch series moves the callbacks for the syscall tracepoints to the
definition site, and adds generic TRACE_EVENTs which capture all syscall
arguments.

New in v3:
- Give the thread flag a more generic name: TIF_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINT.
- Move the regfuncs to arch-specific files, per Jason's suggestion.
- Change _WITH_CALLBACK to just _FN, per Ingo's suggestion.

New in v4:
- Give the config flag a more generic name: HAVE_SYSCALL_TRACEPOINTS.
- Undo the arch reorg of the regfuncs, but conditionalize on above.


Sample trace output:
sendmail-974 [000] 55665.464492: sys_enter: NR 14 (1, 7fff60f3af40, 7fff60f3aec0, 8, 0, 7fb1b6a05161)

sendmail-974 [000] 55665.464496: sys_exit: NR 14 = 0

sendmail-974 [000] 55665.464507: sys_enter: NR 23 (5, 7fff60f3b0d0, 0, 0, 7fff60f3b150, 7fff60f3ef01)

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845359: sys_exit: NR 23 = 1

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845373: sys_enter: NR 14 (0, 7fffc645ce90, 7fffc645cf10, 8, 0, 101010101010101)

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845381: sys_exit: NR 14 = 0

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845383: sys_enter: NR 14 (2, 7fffc645cf10, 0, 8, 0, 101010101010101)

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845386: sys_exit: NR 14 = 0

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845395: sys_enter: NR 0 (3, 7fffc6458f80, 4000, 1, 0, 0)

sshd-978 [000] 55667.845478: sys_exit: NR 0 = 48


Signed-off-by: Josh Stone <jistone@redhat.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
Cc: Jiaying Zhang <jiayingz@google.com>
Cc: Martin Bligh <mbligh@google.com>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
---
arch/s390/Kconfig | 2 +-
arch/s390/defconfig | 2 +-
arch/s390/include/asm/thread_info.h | 4 +-
arch/s390/kernel/entry.S | 2 +-
arch/s390/kernel/entry64.S | 2 +-
arch/s390/kernel/ptrace.c | 12 +++---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 2 +-
arch/x86/configs/i386_defconfig | 2 +-
arch/x86/configs/x86_64_defconfig | 2 +-
arch/x86/include/asm/thread_info.h | 13 +++---
arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c | 16 +++----
include/linux/tracepoint.h | 46 +++++++++--------------
include/trace/define_trace.h | 5 ++
include/trace/events/syscalls.h | 70 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
include/trace/ftrace.h | 9 ++++
include/trace/syscall.h | 17 --------
kernel/trace/Kconfig | 4 +-
kernel/trace/trace_syscalls.c | 17 ++++----
kernel/tracepoint.c | 20 ++++++----



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-08-24 23:47    [W:0.109 / U:3.544 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site