lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Aug]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
Subject[Patch 0/8] V4 Implement crashkernel=auto
V3 -> V4:
- Reorder the patches.
- Really free the reserved memory, instead of remapping it.
(Thanks to KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki!)
- Release the reserved memory resource when the size is 0.
- Use strict_strtoul() instead of simple_strtoul().

V2 -> V3:
- Use more clever way to calculate reserved memory size, especially for IA64.
- Add that patch that implements shrinking reserved memory

V1 -> V2:
- Use include/asm-generic/kexec.h, suggested by Neil.
- Rename a local variable, suggested by Fenghua.
- Fix some style problems found by checkpatch.pl.
- Unify the Kconfig docs.

This series of patch implements automatically reserved memory for crashkernel,
by introducing a new boot option "crashkernel=auto". This idea is from Neil.

In case of breaking user-space applications, it modifies this boot option after
it decides how much memory should be reserved.

On different arch, the threshold and reserved memory size is different. Please
refer patch 8/8 which contains an update for the documentation.

Patch 1/8 implements shrinking reserved memory at run-time, which is useful
when more than enough memory is reserved automatically.

Note: This patchset was only tested on x86_64 with differernt memory sizes.

Cc: Neil Horman <nhorman@redhat.com>
Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Anton Vorontsov <avorontsov@ru.mvista.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Bernhard Walle <bernhard.walle@gmx.de>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: WANG Cong <amwang@redhat.com>

---
Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt | 28 ++++++
arch/ia64/Kconfig | 14 +++
arch/ia64/include/asm/kexec.h | 23 ++++
arch/powerpc/Kconfig | 11 ++
arch/powerpc/include/asm/kexec.h | 8 +
arch/x86/Kconfig | 13 ++
arch/x86/include/asm/kexec.h | 1
include/asm-generic/kexec.h | 42 +++++++++
include/linux/kexec.h | 5 +
kernel/kexec.c | 180 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
kernel/ksysfs.c | 46 +++++++++
11 files changed, 371 insertions(+)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-08-21 08:57    [from the cache]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site