lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [May]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: [PATCH][REPOST] Don't export sched_mc_power_savings on multi-socket single core system

    * Mahesh Jagannath Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com> wrote:

    > My previous post got lost somewhere in lkml list. Hence reposting
    > this patch again.

    no, it did not get lost, i gave you the feedback below more than a
    month ago. FYI, this resubmission has the same corrupted-patch
    problem.

    Ingo

    ----- Forwarded message from Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> -----

    Date: Wed, 8 Apr 2009 13:42:03 +0200
    From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    To: Mahesh Jagannath Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Subject: Re: [PATCH] Don't export sched_mc_power_savings on multi-socket
    single core system
    Cc: Linux Kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
    Suresh B Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>,
    Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>,
    svaidy@linux.vnet.ibm.com, balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com,
    dipankar@in.ibm.com, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>


    * Mahesh Jagannath Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com> wrote:

    > Fix to prevent sched_mc_power_saving from being exported through
    > sysfs for multi-scoket single core system. Max cores should be
    > always greater than one (1). My earlier patch that introduced fix
    > for not exporting 'sched_mc_power_saving' on laptops broke it on
    > multi-socket single core system. This fix addresses issue on both
    > laptop and multi-socket single core system. Below are the Test
    > results:

    > +#define mc_capable() (boot_cpu_data.x86_max_cores > 1) && \
    > + (cpumask_weight(cpu_core_mask(0)) != nr_cpu_ids)
    > #define smt_capable() (smp_num_siblings > 1)

    patch looks good but is whitespace damaged (all tabs were converted
    to spaces). See Documentation/email-clients.txt about how to set up
    your client.

    Ingo

    ----- End forwarded message -----


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2009-05-11 14:39    [W:0.041 / U:1.536 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site