lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Mar]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    From
    Subject[PATCH 52/58] move twl4030_usb's probe function to .devinit.text
    Date
    A pointer to twl4030_usb_probe is passed to the core via
    platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the
    .init sections are discarded. Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y)
    unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an
    oops as does a device being registered late.

    An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of
    platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function
    from the struct platform_driver.

    Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
    Cc: Jouni Hogander <jouni.hogander@nokia.com>
    Cc: Kalle Jokiniemi <kalle.jokiniemi@digia.com>
    Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
    Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: David Brownell <dbrownell@users.sourceforge.net>
    Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
    Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@deeprootsystems.com>
    Cc: Felipe Balbi <felipe.balbi@nokia.com>
    ---
    drivers/usb/otg/twl4030-usb.c | 2 +-
    1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)

    diff --git a/drivers/usb/otg/twl4030-usb.c b/drivers/usb/otg/twl4030-usb.c
    index d9478d0..c34e639 100644
    --- a/drivers/usb/otg/twl4030-usb.c
    +++ b/drivers/usb/otg/twl4030-usb.c
    @@ -641,7 +641,7 @@ static int twl4030_set_host(struct otg_transceiver *x, struct usb_bus *host)
    return 0;
    }

    -static int __init twl4030_usb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
    +static int __devinit twl4030_usb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
    {
    struct twl4030_usb_data *pdata = pdev->dev.platform_data;
    struct twl4030_usb *twl;
    --
    1.6.2
    --
    To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
    the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
    More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
    Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2009-03-28 00:47    [W:0.023 / U:93.812 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site