lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Dec]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/urgent] perf probe: Update perf-probe document
Commit-ID:  c937fe20cb6d9e24c6ad5f9f0c64d64c78411057
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/c937fe20cb6d9e24c6ad5f9f0c64d64c78411057
Author: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
AuthorDate: Tue, 8 Dec 2009 17:03:30 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
CommitDate: Wed, 9 Dec 2009 07:26:54 +0100

perf probe: Update perf-probe document

Add --list and --del option descriptions to perf-probe.txt.

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: systemtap <systemtap@sources.redhat.com>
Cc: DLE <dle-develop@lists.sourceforge.net>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
LKML-Reference: <20091208220330.10142.73296.stgit@dhcp-100-2-132.bos.redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
---
tools/perf/Documentation/perf-probe.txt | 21 ++++++++++++++++-----
1 files changed, 16 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-probe.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-probe.txt
index 9270594..8fa6bf9 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-probe.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf-probe.txt
@@ -8,10 +8,13 @@ perf-probe - Define new dynamic tracepoints
SYNOPSIS
--------
[verse]
-'perf probe' [options] --add 'PROBE' [--add 'PROBE' ...]
+'perf probe' [options] --add='PROBE' [...]
or
-'perf probe' [options] 'PROBE' ['PROBE' ...]
-
+'perf probe' [options] PROBE
+or
+'perf probe' [options] --del='[GROUP:]EVENT' [...]
+or
+'perf probe' --list

DESCRIPTION
-----------
@@ -31,8 +34,16 @@ OPTIONS
Be more verbose (show parsed arguments, etc).

-a::
---add::
- Define a probe point (see PROBE SYNTAX for detail)
+--add=::
+ Define a probe event (see PROBE SYNTAX for detail).
+
+-d::
+--del=::
+ Delete a probe event.
+
+-l::
+--list::
+ List up current probe events.

PROBE SYNTAX
------------

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-12-09 08:31    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans