lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2008]   [Sep]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
SubjectRe: [Bug #11382] e1000e: 2.6.27-rc1 corrupts EEPROM/NVM
From
From: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Date: Sun, 21 Sep 2008 20:54:13 +0200 (CEST)

> Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11382
> Subject : e1000e: 2.6.27-rc1 corrupts EEPROM/NVM
> Submitter : David Vrabel <david.vrabel@csr.com>
> Date : 2008-08-08 10:47 (45 days old)
> References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=121819267211679&w=4
> Handled-By : Christopher Li <chrisl@vmware.com>

Fixed by:

commit 78566fecbb12a7616ae9a88b2ffbc8062c4a89e3
Author: Christopher Li <chrisl@vmware.com>
Date: Fri Sep 5 14:04:05 2008 -0700

e1000: prevent corruption of EEPROM/NVM

Andrey reports e1000 corruption, and that a patch in vmware's ESX fixed
it.

The EEPROM corruption is triggered by concurrent access of the EEPROM
read/write. Putting a lock around it solve the problem.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: use DEFINE_SPINLOCK to avoid confusing lockdep]
Signed-off-by: Christopher Li <chrisl@vmware.com>
Reported-by: Andrey Borzenkov <arvidjaar@mail.ru>
Cc: Zach Amsden <zach@vmware.com>
Cc: Pratap Subrahmanyam <pratap@vmware.com>
Cc: Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
Cc: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>
Cc: Bruce Allan <bruce.w.allan@intel.com>
Cc: PJ Waskiewicz <peter.p.waskiewicz.jr@intel.com>
Cc: John Ronciak <john.ronciak@intel.com>
Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2008-09-22 01:55    [from the cache]
©2003-2014 Jasper Spaans. Advertise on this site