lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2007]   [Feb]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    /
    Date
    From
    SubjectRe: current git crashes on bootup with pci_iounmap()
    Kay Sievers wrote:
    > On 2/13/07, Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org> wrote:
    >> On Tue, 2007-02-13 at 17:04 +0100, Marcel Holtmann wrote:
    >> > > kernel BUG at lib/iomap.c:254!
    >> > > invalid opcode: 0000 [#1]
    >> > > ...
    >> > >
    >> > > The screen picture is here:
    >> > > http://vrfy.org/pci_iounmap.jpg
    >> > >
    >> > > It's a Thinkpad T43p.
    >> > >
    >> > > 2.6.20 was working fine.
    >> > >
    >> > > Commenting out:
    >> > > IO_COND(addr, /* nothing */, iounmap(addr));
    >> > > in:
    >> > > lib/iomap.c:254
    >> > > makes at least booting up possible.
    >> >
    >> > I saw a similar one on my X41. Disabling the AHCI driver made the
    >> > machine booting again.
    >>
    >> Hey Marcel,
    >> yeah, that works fine here too.
    >
    > Tejun, Jeff, any ideas what's going wrong with the iomap change and
    > the AHCI driver?

    The following commit should have fixed the problem, at least the oops.
    Care to give the current git head a shot?

    commit fb4d64e78ceab77cf20f7796f74aa10ebe862032
    Author: Frederik Deweerdt <deweerdt@free.fr>
    Date: Fri Feb 16 01:27:15 2007 -0800

    [PATCH] pci_iomap_regions() error handling fix

    It appears that the pcim_iomap_regions() function doesn't get the error
    handling right. It BUGs early at boot with a backtrace along the
    lines of:

    ahci_init
    pci_register_driver
    driver_register
    [...]
    ahci_init_one
    pcim_iomap_region
    pcim_iounmap

    The following patch allows me to boot. Only the if(mask..) continue;
    part fixes the problem actually, the gotos where changed so that we
    don't try to unmap something we couldn't map anyway.

    Signed-off-by: Frederik Deweerdt <frederik.deweerdt@gmail.com>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
    Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

    --
    tejun
    -
    To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
    the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
    More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
    Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2007-02-21 12:39    [W:0.026 / U:126.428 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site